Hatha Yoga

Hatha yoga is known as the science of purification. There are six different types of purification that must be practiced. When these impurities are removed the energetic body functions well. The energetic body is being referred to Nadis. When the channels are clear they move within the body structure right up to the brain in a healthy way.

The main objective of hatha yoga is to create an absolute balance of the interacting activities and processes of the physical body, mind and energy. Sushumna Nadi is the central force that impulses are sent to and when generated it activates the evolution of human consciousness. If Hatha yoga is not used for this purpose, its true objective is lost.

Ha and tha, a combination of two beeja mantras. In Hatha yoga ha represents Prana, the vital force, and tha represents mind, the mental energy. This union of the two forces creates awakening of higher consciousness. Prakriti and Purusha are known as life and consciousness; Shakti and Shiva in tantra; ida and pingala in hatha yoga; yin and yang in Taoism; matter and energy in physics. These two forces have to be brought to harmony in order to avoid either physical or mental problems. This imbalance could cause someone to become insane or have high levels of anger, commit crimes, and all sorts of violent behavior. Therefore, we should keep in mind that body, mind and spirit are not separate but one.

Hatha is also considered to be a compound word formed of two syllables ‘Ha’ and ‘tha’; ‘Ha’ means the moon (Ida Nadi) and ‘tha’ means the sun (pingala). These correspond to the breaths, which flow through the left and right nostrils. The Prana and Apana are balanced through the regulation of breath. Hatha Yoga is a way to health and longevity. All systems are influenced. Its practice regulates the action of heart, lungs and brain. It promotes digestion and circulation of blood. Kidneys, liver and all other internal viscera work efficiently. It removes all sorts of diseases.

The body is often referred to as a temple of the soul. As a result, it makes perfect sense to first do the cleansing, then asana and pranayama. The purification is recommended through Satkarmas (six methods). In order to experience the best meditation it is important to purify the nadis. Our body produces three types of waste: mucus, gas and acidity. The regulation happens with removal of this waste creating health as perfectly as possible and great health can be maintained.

For convenience here is the list. Available in previous post of kriya.

  • Neti: nasal cleansing, including jala neti and sutra neti.
  • Dhauti: cleansing of the digestive tract including danta dhauti, vatsara dhauti and so forth.
  • Nauli: abdominal massage.
  • Basti: colon cleanse.
  • Kapalabhati: purification and vitalization of the frontal lobes
  • Trataka: blinkless gazing.


Comments Are Closed