The YAMAS part 2

The Yamas part 2

The 5 Yamas (Part 2 of 2)

 The second Yams is satya, which means truth. Anyone that is interested in the practices

of yoga should always do their best not to lie or be deceitful toward others in any way.

Always tell the truth with your words, as well as with your actions. In the 36th verse in

chapter 2 of the Yoga Sutras, Patanjali says satya pratishayam kriya phala ashrayatvam

or "when firmly established in truth, whatever one says will automatically come true."

Third Yama

The third Yama is asteya or to not steal. Most people don't consider themselves thieves,

but there are so many ways we take what is not ours without even realizing it when

we look deeper into this practice. Some examples are: Stealing time from someone by

being late and making them wait for you. Stealing from an employer who is paying

someone to do a job, but instead you are slacking off or sleeping on the job. Veganism

and Environmentalism was already covered in the ahimsa section, but these practices are

also important in regards to asteya as well and are worth revisiting. Drinking the milk

that a mother cow produces to feed her young is stealing. Being wasteful with our natural

resources or doing things that help create water/air pollution and global warming would

be considered stealing from the Earth as well as stealing a healthy environment from

future generations. In the Yoga Sutras, chapter 2 verse 37 it says asteya pratishayam

sarva ratna upasthanam or that when you become firmly established in not stealing,

Fourth Yama

Yama number four is brahmacharya. For many people brahmacharaya means celibacy.

Romantic relationships, love, and sex all take a lot of time and energy and can be a

distraction for some people, so sometimes a vow of celibacy is taken so that one can stay

better focused on the practices of yoga. But for others, practicing brahmacharya means

focusing on the wise use of sexual energy and to not be wasteful with it. One should

never use sexuality to manipulate others or force sexuality on others with unwanted

advances. When the one becomes firmly established in brahmacharaya, great vitality will

appear. In chapter 2, verse 38, Patanjali phrases it by saying brahmacharya pratisthayam

Fifth Yama

The fifth and final Yama is aparigraha. To practice aparigraha, one must not hoard things.

Most of our modern shopping and eating habits are controlled by what we want and not

by what we need. We then spend a great deal of our time (and money) trying to get what

we want as often as we can. Instead we should practice aparigraha and take what we

need and take it in moderation. Another way to practice aparigraha is to share what you

have instead of trying to hold on to it. Give freely, without an expectations of getting

something in return.  Some examples could be if you have too many clothes or household

items, you could send them to a thrift shop or homeless shelter. If you are blessed with

extra money, consider donating some to charity. If you find yourself with free time on

your hands, donate that time to a good cause that helps others. If you are lucky enough

to be in good health, take some time to care for someone who is injured or ill. When we

become firmly established in aparigraha, we will come to learn the reason were born

and the meaning of this life will be revealed. This can be found in the second chapter the

Yoga Sutras, in the verse 39 which says aparigraha sthairye janma kathanta sambodhah.

By Lehra Hjertstedt

Comments Are Closed